bustersvur.blogg.se

How to put displacement map into d coat
How to put displacement map into d coat





xNormal will output an RGB EXR, which is a lot bigger than it needs to be. Overlapping UVs don't work for generating maps. Make sure you have non-overlapping UVs, at least within the side of the mesh you give to xNormal. I also had some random garbage that went away by disabling "Closest hit if ray fails". I worked around this by lopping off the left half of the character (in both the low- and high-res mesh) before giving it to xNormal, and this problem went away. It would map one half of the character to the opposite side and give garbage. If I just exported a mesh and a high-res mesh, xNormal couldn't figure it out. Why would you design it so non-color textures have color conversions applied? If it's by design, then it's a design bug. (Project Settings -> Player -> Other Settings -> Color Space) In gamma mode, float textures are converted to sRGB when you sample them- even if "sRGB (Color Texture)" is unchecked.

how to put displacement map into d coat

Unity apparently won't let you sample floating-point textures without color conversions unless your scene is set to linear color space.

how to put displacement map into d coat

Set your displacement textures to type "Default", turn off "sRGB", and turn off compression. If your model explodes when you turn displacement on, check this. My models are at 0.01 scale since they were exported from Maya (centimeter scale), so I have to multiply displacement by 0.01 in the shader to match. If your model has a file scale on it (or you've set a scale factor), you have to adjust for this in the shader. You don't need a magic displacement factor when you use float maps (but see below). In xNormal, set "Normalization" (in "Height map" options) to "Raw FP values" and save as. Set your scene to linear (Project Settings -> Player -> Other Settings -> Color Space). I got usable results out of it where I couldn't out of Mudbox or Zbrush. Quick points ("TLDR", read below if you want the "why"):

how to put displacement map into d coat

(Maybe I'll put together a sample scene, but I've spent too much time on this already-maybe later.) I tried a bit to get a vector displacement map to work, but they're a lot more expensive and I don't need them right now, so I stuck with regular displacement. Thought I'd drop a few notes in case it helps the next person searching for it.

how to put displacement map into d coat

There's not much info out there for this that I could find, the docs are nearly non-existant ( is about all there is, and that's just a few code snippets and no real detail), and there are a lot of gotchas. I spent a while getting displacement to work.







How to put displacement map into d coat